C.P. Blakely Grade 5 students prepare for change

Grade 5 students at C. P. Blakely School, and their principal Trevor Sanche, remembered their time at the school as they said a final

Grade 5 students at C. P. Blakely School, and their principal Trevor Sanche, remembered their time at the school as they said a final goodbye last Thursday. Sanche is leaving the school for a position as division principal in Innisfail.

“A sincere thank you goes out to each of the families in our community. You have made my time at C. P. Blakely School exciting and memorable. I truly have enjoyed many aspects of this position,” wrote Sanche in the school’s June newsletter.

Current vice principal Anne Frey, who will be principal next year, led the farewell ceremony, which included a picture slideshow and presentation of certificates.

The Anastasia Swann Memorial Sparkle Award was presented to student Tori Elsbett, whose name will be added to a plaque displayed in the school. Anastasia Swann had cancer when she was a Grade 6 student at C. P. Blakely in 1993. Her parents attended the ceremony to present the award to Elsbett, who staff chose as best exemplifying her qualities.

“She would always be laughing with her friends and enjoying life,” said Frey of Swann.

Elsbett said she is excited to go to a new and bigger school next year. She remembers meeting new people and making friends at C. P. Blakely, which she said took a day when she started school in Grade 1.

Her father Darrell said it’s a great honour for his daughter to have received the award, and isn’t worried about the transition she will be making to a different school.

“I think she’ll be fine. She doesn’t have a problem making friends or fitting in,” he said.

Her teacher, Chandra Clark, said Elsbett is friends with everybody on the playground, and makes sure to include everyone in activities.

“She’s a sweet little girl,” said Clark, adding that Elsbett also had the lead role in the school play.

“She’s very kind and very helpful,” said Tara Ireland, who took over the class after Clark went on maternity leave. She said that Elsbett always has a different group of friends around her.

Clark and Ireland said they don’t think the transition to a bigger school will be difficult for the students. They attended tours at École Fox Run School, and are able to meet the principal. Throughout the year, Clark and Ireland said, teachers also regularly talk about how things will be different at Fox Run.

“I think they’ll do great. The schools work together very closely,” said Clark. “The kids really love growing up and getting out of the baby school.”

C. P. Blakely’s departing Grade 5 students include: Alyssa Andrew, Noah Carlson, Logan Cressey, Tristan Crich, Tori Elsbett, Cole Joseph, Baylie Kennedy, Brice Kolody, Ethan Lambert, Turner Loroff, Aiden Meier, Reagan Mucci, Madison Roth, Lexi Wall, Alison, Megan Abram, Taegan Asham, Niah Bayliss, Kenidee Callsen, Dayton Copeman, Zachary Daniels, Autum Erickson, Kara Gustum, Tanner Haefner, Tristan Hess, Amber House, Brooke Howell, Hana Lockyer, Connor Lyons, Geordan MacKinnon, Isabella Martens, Jeremy McLaughlin, Ethan Meadows, Jenna Meier, Dylan Mimnagh, Holden Rauch, Aidan Rider, MacKenzie Schneider, Layne Smith, Vincent Stoesz, Jacob Weller, Sam Arsenault, Deni Brauer, Henna Bray, Dion Bruyere, Amber Chenier, Connor Crawford, Jarrett Day, Hannah Gardner, Alex Harlos, Dawson Hilla-Hartt, Shelby Jolicoeur, Ethan Kratchmer, Kaitlyn Lapp, Jackson McClemont-Waters, Zoe Meinen, Haley Miller, Jessica Murray, Joecill Muyot, Wyatt Myhr, Mercedes Ominayak, Kyra Palmer, Dakota Pan, Spencer Petkau, Kieran Riguidel, Tavia Swain and Cameron Tubbs.

Just Posted

Kenney talks pipelines with Trudeau after election win, calls it cordial

Almost a year ago Kenney dismissed Trudeau as a dilettante and a lightweight

Sylvan Lake Youth Services receives grant for mental health programming

The Alberta Health Services grant will be put towards running the Community Helpers Project

Sylvan Lake’s Leaders of Tomorrow awards get a new look

The Youth Sparks Awards will feature six award categories on May 31

Novice Sylvan Lake Buccaneers sail to home opener win

The novice Buccaneers played in a triple-header with the bantam and midget Buccaneers on April 12

Former Sylvan Lake resident receives humanitarian award

Humanitarian efforts see Sylvan Lake native recognized for long-term contributions

‘Open for business:’ Jason Kenney’s UCP wins majority in Alberta election

The UCP was leading or elected in 63 of 87 seats Tuesday night

Undercover cops don’t need warrant to email, text suspected child lurers: court

High court decision came Thursday in the case of Sean Patrick Mills of Newfoundland

VIDEO: Trump tried to seize control of Mueller probe, report says

Special counsel Robert Mueller’s report revealed to a waiting nation Thursday

Alberta RCMP reminds Albertans how to be ‘egg-stra’ safe this Easter

Put away phone while driving, plan for a designated driver

B.C. awaits Kenney’s ‘turn off taps,’ threat; Quebec rejects Alberta pipelines

B.C. Premier John Horgan said he spoke with Kenney Wednesday and the tone was cordial

Federal government extends deadline to make Trans Mountain decision to June 18

The National Energy Board endorsed an expansion of the Trans Mountain pipeline on Feb. 22

Precautionary evacuation for Red Deer, Alta., residents due to industrial fire

City officials are advising people to close windows and doors and to turn off air intakes into homes

Study links preschool screen time to behavioural and attention problems

The research looked at more than 2,400 families

Could a pharmacist’s consultation help more people get vaccinated?

Canadian study suggests giving pharmacists a monetary incentive to consult would cut influenza cases

Most Read