Leaders of Tomorrow Awards recognizes outstanding youth in the community

The Leaders of Tomorrow Awards were held at the Sylvan Lake Community Centre Friday evening where youth were recognized

The Leaders of Tomorrow Awards were held at the Sylvan Lake Community Centre Friday evening where youth were recognize for their leadership contributions in the community.

Family members and friends showed their support to the nominees.

Before the nominees were announced and the awards given out Mayor for the Town of Sylvan Lake Sean McIntyre said a few words about what youth in leadership positions meant to the community.

“It always inspires me to see the youth in our community stepping up into leadership roles,” McIntyre said. “It’s this type of leadership and service that makes our community so great.”

He pointed out how leaderships doesn’t require a title or special recognition but rather leadership is serving, inspiring, motivating and appreciating others.

“Leadership is doing and setting an example with our own actions,” McIntyre said. “Leaders are those who see a need and meet it. They are the first to ask ‘What can I do to help?’ not ‘What can someone else do?’. Leadership is taking action to do the right thing.”

He pointed out how the young leaders have been recognized because those around them have taken note to their hard work.

“I want to congratulate every person nominated for the Leaders of Tomorrow Awards. You are the difference makers and the game changers. You are the leaders of tomorrow,” McIntyre said.

66 individual youth were nominees, with six groups consisting of 111 youth.

As the nominee’s names were called out, they made their way to the stage where they were greeted by the mayor who shook their hand, smiled, handed them their certificate and congratulated them.

Leaders of Tomorrow Awards included three age categories: 6-11, 12-14 and 15-18 as well as a group category.

Nominees for the 6-11 category included Jenna Abram, Parker Allred, Rachel Braitenback, Hanna Caines, Aimee Dorsey, Rowan McCulloch, Rylyn Morse, Marissa Ratzlaff,Erica Robertson, Stephanie Warnick and Kennedy Lanciault.

Kennedy Lanciault was awarded the Leaders of Tomorrow Award for this category.

She is described as being a part of guiding for many years and has taken on responsibility within her groups. Being a guide, Kennedy helps out with the Brownies twoevenings a week. She is described as always being prepared to do her best each week and speaks to her fellow guides and the adults with high respect.

She also visits the Bethany Care Society once a months to read and play games with the seniors.

Nominees for the 12-14 category included Elizabeth Balon, Annika Bender, Madison Bennett, Reece Brigley, Paige Cameron, Emma Cassels, Jayla Currie, Zoe Dickens,Sara Duske, Jordyn Engler, Aime Gruntman, Sierra Hilman, Lauren Howse, Jared Howse, Daryn Jackson, Sadie Jefferies, Janelle Katterhagen, Aurora Knox, Bryce Knudsen, Ava Kooiman, Tasia Lozo, Eliana Mulholland, Jory Neish, Grace Perry, Alicia Poffenroth, Brooklynn Pollitt, Keagen Pratt, Baily Quintal, Mikayla Ratzlaff, Charlotte Raycraft,Chelsey Richardson, Grace Richtor, Jamie Robertson, Jaidra Russell, AJ Sandulac, Hailey Shaw, Keara Slimmon, Hayden Smith, Violet Smith, Brynne Takar, Sara Talon,Hannah Yabut and Molly Cocks.

Molly Cocks was awarded the Leaders of Tomorrow Awards for the age category.

Molly is described as being a phenomenal worker in and out of her classroom. She is often called ‘our right and left hand’ with offering assistance where ever she can. This includes helping other students with their work. When time allows, she completes enrichment activities. She has been trained on the photocopier and other office tools to help out. She also fundraises for ‘We Day’.

Being an academic perfectionist, she hands in assignments on time and properly. When not at school Molly has been involved with the Sylvan Lake Nauticals swim team and plays volleyball for the Sylvan Lake Wave.

She was also involved in a fundraiser to help a young local golfer make it to Niagara Falls for a golf tournament. These are just some of the activities and responsibilityMolly has taken on.

Nominees for the 15-18 category included Jared Alward, Kendra Dale, Alex Goulet, Darion Hamilton, Ethan Howell, Daryl-Lynn Jimmo, Josiah MacIntyre, Christine Paquin,Vincent Stoesz, Adam Sylvester, Cassie Waters, Baylee White and Annika Vetter.

Annika Vetter was awarded the Leaders of Tomorrow Awards for this age category.

She is described as being one incredible young woman. She is on the honour roll at school, with her intelligence going beyond the classroom. She makes people smile with her wit and brain. She shows courage by laughing at her own jokes and by speaking to adults explaining a project she is working on.

Annika is known to be the type to be involved, work hard and be respectful all of which have gone a long way for people trusting in her leadership capabilities. She is respected and trusted by her peers when guiding them in a theatrical production or acting as a co-chair for the Flipside Advisory Team.

Annika never seems to run out of energy. She is a part of her school’s Interact Club, is on several committees include the graduation, year book, grad history and is also in the choir.

With Annika’s work ethic she will be prepared to work hard to be what she wants to be an astronaut. She has currently obtained her private pilot license through ground school.

The group category included Get Real Volunteers from H.J. Cody School, Girl Guides, 4H Shadow Riders, Pathfinders, Beyond the Hurt and Fox Run Breakfast ProgramVolunteers.

The group award for the Leaders of Tomorrow Awards was given to the Fox Run Breakfast Program Volunteers.

The group of six girls include Jade Caines, Grace Degenhardt, Eraca Dolan, Gabby Gauvin, Cheyne Halvorson, Rebecca Kingston, Trinity Larson, Sarah McClelland and Reece Millar.

They are described as the girls who come to school everyday to prepare, serve and clean up breakfast for all the students.

These early bird girls ensure the students eat from at least two food groups per day and serve breakfast to around 100 students.

They are described as being enthusiastic and conscientious workers.



Be Among The First To Know

Sign up for a free account today, and receive top headlines in your inbox Monday to Saturday.

Sign Up with google Sign Up with facebook

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Reset your password

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

A link has been emailed to you - check your inbox.

Don't have an account? Click here to sign up
Pop-up banner image