Skip to content

Seven Lakers named citizens of the year

The Citizen of the Year Award’s were given out during the council meeting on June 26
Seven lakers received Citizen of the Year Awards during the council meeting on June 26. From the left (back row) Teresa Rilling, Jas Payne, Megan Hanson, Tim Mearns, Ian Oostindie and Kjeryn Dakin. (front row) Gracie Mack, Bryna Boisvert, Callen Scanland, Macy Lyon, Tracey Lynn and Graham Parsons. (Photo from the Town of Sylvan Lake Facebook page)

Seven lakers selected by council after the nomination period in May were recipients of the Citizen of the Year Award during the council meeting on June 26.

Awards given out included the Environmental Stewardship Award, the Sports Excellence Award, the Longtime Service Volunteer Award, the Citizenship Award, the Mayor’s Distinguished Award, the Youth Award of Excellence and the Music, Art, Culture and Heritage Award.

One of the seven lakers to win an award was Bryna Boisvert the recipient of the Citizenship Award.

For Boisvert hearing about the win was a surprise.

“The FCSS Volunteer co-ordinator called me ten days prior to the awards presentation and I seriously cried when they called me. I didn’t realize I impacted people that much so I was honestly floored,” Boisvert said.

Boisvert’s dedication to the community has particularly been in nurturing and empowering youth, town staff said.

“Bryna’s commitment to our youth is truly commendable. As an Assistant Coach for the U15 Female Wildcats and U13 Broncos, as well as the Head Coach for the U13 Fastball Sylvan Lake Mariners, she has played a vital role in shaping the lives of young athletes. Her dedication to these teams over the past two seasons alone demonstrates her passion for fostering their growth and development.”

READ MORE: Launch event held to commemorate Lemonade Day

Her impact also extends beyond the sports field, the town staff added.

“Her involvement in significant community projects showcases her selfless nature. Her contributions to the construction of the Fallen Worker Tribute at Bower Ponds and her unwavering support for the Threads of Life Organization are other examples of her commitment to making a meaningful difference in the lives of others.”

There are many things that make someone a citizen of the year, Boisvert said.

“Citizens of the year are people that really go out of their way to help and are always giving their time with no expectations, they are always willing and always working really hard.”

Other award recipients include Macy Lyon (Environmental Stewardship Award), Colin Fraser (Sports Excellence Award), Graham Parsons (Long Time Service Volunteer Award), Tracey Lynn (Mayor’s Distinguished Award), Callen Scanland (Youth Award of Excellence) and Gracie Mack (Music, Art, Culture and Heritage Award).

The Citizen of the Year Awards will return next year with the selection committee being formed by this year’s award winners.



Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Sarah Baker

About the Author: Sarah Baker

I joined Black Press in March 2023 and am looking forward to sharing stories about the local communities.
Read more