Council organized, appointing selves, citizens to various committees

Start time for council meetings changed to 6 p.m.

After being sworn in newly elected Sylvan Lake councillors got right down to business appointing themselves and citizens to various standing committees, external organizations and task forces for the next 12 months, at their Oct. 28 meeting.

First on the agenda for the organizational meeting, which preceded the regular meeting, was setting the council meeting schedule.

Councillors unanimously agreed to change the start time of their meetings from 5:30 p.m. to 6 p.m. (Changes to the procedures bylaw were on the agenda for Tuesday night’s council meeting to allow this to happen.)

Then they passed a resolution setting meetings for the second and fourth Monday of each month with the exceptions of December 2013 and July 2014 when council will only meet on the second Monday of the month.

Graham Parsons was selected as deputy mayor for the months of November and December; Jas Payne for January and February; Dale Plante for March and April, Megan Chernoff for May and June, Matt Prete for July and August and Chris Lust for September and October.

Following are the committees and appointments:

Corporate Services – Mayor Sean McIntyre, councillors Plante, Payne with Prete as alternate.

Operational Services – Chernoff, Plante, Parsons with Prete as alternate.

Community Services – Chernoff, Payne, Lust with Parsons as alternate. Chelsea Wildeman was appointed to fill the citizen position held by Lust who now sits on the committee as a councillor. Shannan Sword and Christine Ginter are in the second year of their two year terms.

Family & Community Support Services – Chernoff with Lust as alternate. Bonnie King, Chelsea Wildeman and Jolene Spies were appointed as citizen representatives for two year terms. Tammy Oliver McCurdie is going into the second year of her two year term.

Municipal Planning Commission – Prete, Chernoff and Parsons with Lust as alternate. Public members appointed were Robert Ornella, Colleen Jensen, Frank Peck and Jacqueline Ruhe.

Subdivision and Development Appeal Board – McIntyre with Payne as alternate. Dan Hutchison and Elizabeth Eso are going into the second year of two year terms. Two residents are still required for this board as there were no applications for the positions.

Sylvan Lake Municipal Library Board – Payne. Citizens appointed include Bob Osmond and Frank Peck. Leah Rawlings and Debbie Oostindie are going into their third year of three year terms and Marilyn Stumpf is going into the second year of a three year term. Michael Dawe represents the summer villages.

Sylvan Lake Senior Citizens Lodge Foundation – McIntyre and Plante. Laverne Asselstine was appointed as citizen representative. Chuck White and Richard Backs are in the second year of two year terms.

Friends of Sylvan Lake Provincial Park – Lust with McIntyre as alternate. Citizen representatives appointed for two year terms are Steve Dills and Steve Miller. Elizabeth Eso is going into the second year of a two year term. The committee also includes a chamber of commerce representative yet to be named.

Municipal Disaster Services – McIntyre with Chernoff as alternate.

Sylvan Lake Management Committee – Prete with McIntyre as alternate.

Parkland Regional Library Board – Payne with Lust as alternate.

Parkland Community Planning Service – Lust with McIntyre as alternate.

Central Alberta Economic Partnership – Chernoff.

Sylvan Lake Chamber of Commerce – Plante.

Sylvan Lake Regional Water Commission, Sylvan Lake Regional Wastewater Commission and Central Waste Management Commission – Parsons.

Red Deer River Municipal User’s Group – McIntyre.

Central Alberta Trail Systems – Lust.

Urgent Care – McIntyre. Susan Samson was appointed to the committee as a citizen.

Firehall Design & Building Task Force – McIntyre and Prete.

Multiplex Redevelopment Task Force – McIntyre and Prete with Chernoff as alternate.

Multiplex Redevelopment Fundraising Task Force – McIntyre with Plante as alternate.

Library Expansion Task Force – Payne.

Centennial Celebrations Task Force – Lust.


Just Posted

Lion’s Club fundraising through Las Vegas themed ‘flight night’

The annual fundraiser is to send locals to Camp HeHoHa

Annual Polar Dip raises more than $16,000 for local charities

Hundreds watched as 38 jumpers braved the icey waters of Sylvan Lake

Former opioid user tells his story

Innisfail’s Keira Vander Vliet gives his take on the opioid crisis

Fish for free

No license is required to ice fish on Family Day weekend

SLIDESHOW: Fun and games had at Winterfest

Many came out for the annual winter festival on Sylvan Lake, Feb. 17

How to keep local news visible in your Facebook feed

Facebook has changed the news feed to emphasize personal connections. You might see less news.

Students head to Florida capital to press for gun law change

Young protestors are joining a grassroots movement against gun violence in the wake of last week’s school shooting in Parkland, Florida

Liberals look at use-it-or-lose-it parental leave for dads

Liberals looking at creating a use-it-or-lose-it leave for fathers, Trudeau says

Fred Rogers, America’s favourite neighbour, celebrated in 2018

The golden anniversary of America’s favorite neighbor is being celebrated with a PBS special next month

Toddler breaks leg after boot sucked into escalator at Vancouver airport

A Calgary woman is reminding parents of the dangers of escalators after her toddler’s foot was stuck in one and he broke his leg

Moose creates uber Canadian Olympic moment

A Calgary man shares a truly Canadian moment on Twitter of a Moose enjoying the Olympics

Trudeau announces two-way $1 billion investment deal with India

Some of India’s biggest companies to invest more than $250 million in Canada in the coming years

’60s Scoop group educates survivors, pushes rejection of federal settlement

Federal government’s compensation proposal includes $50 million for an Indigenous Healing Foundation

Most Read