Tristan Loewen accepts his second award of the night, the Jeff Halvorson Memorial Award. Loewen also received the Lakers Football Team Leadership Award. Photos by Megan Roth/Sylvan Lake News

Lakers Football team celebrate the year at awards banquet

Nine major awards were handed out during the banquet on March 7

On March 7, the H.J. Cody Lakers football team gathered at the NexSource Centre to remember the year and to hand out awards to eight players.

Before the major awards were handed out, each player on the team had something nice said about them and received a Lakers Football lanyard.

READ MORE: Lakers football players honoured at annual banquet

The coaching staff also received a small gift from the team’s managers.

The small group and Grade 12 players all received a ring to commemorate their years, and were put on the spot to say something nice about Head Coach Jeremy Braitenback.

The time has nine “major” awards that are handed out each year, this year the awards were given out to eight players, with one player receiving two awards.

“I feel like you are all winners,” Braitenback said to the gathered team, “but it is our tradition that we have nine awards that we give out for dedication, ability, and being an awesome Laker.”

The following are the major award winners from the 2018 football season:

Rookie of the Year: Zane Johnson

Special Teams Aware: Tyson Attwood

Most Improved: Dax Bylsma

Lineman of the Year: Arden Kasha

Lakers Football Team Leadership Award: Tristan Loewen

Defensive Player of the Year: Rees Degenhardt

Jeff Halvorson Memorial Award: Tristan Loewen

Offensive Player of the Year: Reuben Braitenback

Most Valuable Player: Warren Stewart-Brown


Rookie of the Year Zane Johnson accepts his award from Coach Jas Payne.

Just Posted

Town of Sylvan Lake passes 2019 tax rate, estimates education tax

Sylvan Lake and all municipalities have been left without an education tax from the Province

Town of Sylvan Lake to replace old water meters to streamline monthly billing

Town Council also approved replacing old water meters to the current technology

Drivers reminded impairment and driving don’t mix

National Road Safety Week May 14 to 20

Former Sylvan Lake resident launches latest book

Talena Winters will launch her book at the Sylvan Lake Municipal Library on Friday

Sylvan Lake bans use of charcoal barbecues in Town parks

Visitors and residents picnicking in Sylvan Lake are asked to leave the charcoal barbecues at home

UPDATE: B.C. pilot killed in Honduras plane crash

The crash happened in the Roatan Islands area, according to officials

Growing wildfire prompts warning for High Level to prepare for evacuation

Town of High Level announced Monday that residents should get personal items in order

Carbon tax, desk-thumping on agenda in upcoming Alberta legislature session

Jason Kenney has appointed a panel to come up with ways to reduce spending in the budget this fall

Facebook takes down anti-vaxxer page that used image of late Canadian girl

Facebook said that the social media company has disabled the anti-vaccination page

Authorities warn out-of-control wildfire could cut northern Alberta town’s electricity

Alberta Transportation has closed Highway 35 south of High Level due to the fire

‘Rope-a-dope’: Environmentalists say Alberta war room threat won’t distract them

Those against Alberta Premier Jason Kenney aren’t worried about promise to fight critics of energy industry

Almost $13 million to be paid to Grande Prairie hospital subcontractors, others

No reasons for the Court of Queen’s Bench order were released

Canada’s parole officers say correctional system has reached breaking point

About half of Canada’s federal parole officers work inside penitentiaries and correctional institutions

Speed, alcohol considered factors in deadly Calgary crash: police

Two female passengers in the Corolla, aged 31 and 65, died at the scene

Most Read