Marshall, Adams, Donaghy, Ledwos named Cody athletes of year

H. J. Cody High School’s top athletes were honoured in front of their classmates, parents and friends during an awards ceremony last Friday

H. J. Cody High School’s top athletes were honoured in front of their classmates, parents and friends during an awards ceremony last Friday afternoon.

Coaches, managers and others were also thanked for their dedication to the 20 different teams and approximately 300 students who participated in athletic endeavours during the past year. Some students played on up to five different teams.

“Today is not only about celebrating our athletes but all the accomplishments you have helped create,” MC Jason Chatwood said. “Whether you were playing in a game, managing, training, driving students to games, cheering from the stands, scorekeeping or volunteering your time we need the effort of everyone in this room in order for athletics to be successful at HJ.”

Named athletes of the year were Erika Marshall (Grade 9 female), Calob Adams (Grade 9 male), Alex Donaghy (high school female) and Tyler Ledwos (high school male). Both Donaghy and Ledwos received the same honours last year.

Donaghy plans to attend Red Deer College in the fall and play on the Queens volleyball team. Ledwos will be continuing his football career at the University of Calgary.

Their names will be added to a pair of banners which were sponsored last year by H. J. Cody High School Athletic Society and will hang proudly in the school.

This organization fundraises to reduce fees for athletes participating in various sports and buys uniforms and equipment for the teams. Bingos, casinos and raffles have been the means of raising most of the money. The society was started in 2001.

The first awards presented were the Academic Athletic Excellence Awards. Jeremy Braitenback said the ‘Super Lakers’ are students who maintain an 80 per cent average while competing in extracurricular activities. Fifteen Grade 9 students were recognized, 13 Grade 10 students, six Grade 11 students and nine Grade 12 students.

Grade 9: Chase Allan, Jessica Beckwith, Devyn Blondheim, Bobbi Cerin, Gallen Donaghy, Emma Dunsmore, Kassidy Glasgow, Zach Kostiuk, Erika Marshall, Kassidy Mason, Meghan Meier, Ceanna Muller, Jensen Peck, Madison Prelle and Jesse Stormoen.

Grade 10: Mackenzie Allan, Melissa Bancroft, Madison Bennett, Alecia Daniels, Kyle Eckenswiller, Sulley Larocque, Whitney Lehman, Brookelynn Louma, Jaxon Lynn, Madison McDonald, Morgan Nemish, Marley Ojala and Heather Watson.

Grade 11: Cara Derbyshire, Randi Derbyshire, Kendra Hainsworth, Bailee Mathers, T. J. Sloboda and Tayler Vick.

Grade 12: Alex Donaghy, Morgan Drews, Bennett Hreherchuk, Kirstynn Joseph, Tyler Ledwos, Tyson Maton, Brent McLean, Kolson Moore and Roshell Organ.

Cross Country

Outstanding athletes – Shae Edwards and Bennett Hreherchuk.


Top golfer – Jaxon Lynn.


City girls: MVP – Kassidy Glasgow, most improved – Emma Dunsmore, coach’s award – Megan Warrener.

Junior varsity girls: MVP – Heather Watson, heart and hustle -Phoenix Scultz, coach’s award – Madison McDonald.

Senior girls: MVP – Alex Donaghy, heart and hustle – Jordanna Krentz, coach’s award – Dominique Meinen.

Grade 9 boys: MVP – Calob Adams, most improved – Michael Branton, coach’s award – Brendan Slaney.


Outstanding offensive player – Shon Zenert, MVP – Tyler Ledwos, rookie of the year – Landon Rosene, team leadership – Sebastian Kneitl, outstanding defensive player – Josh Barrie, outstanding lineman – TJ Sloboda, Jeff Halvorson Memorial Award – Morgan Drews.


Boys MVP – Zach Kostiuk, girls MVP – Laura Olive.


City boys: MVP – Chase Elwood, most improved – Taylor Diebert, coach’s award – Tyler Steenbergen.

Senior girls: MVP – Alex Donaghy, heart and hustle – Phoenix Schultz, rookie of year – Harper Elwood.

Senior boys: MVP – Tyler Ledwos, heart and hustle – Reid Schafer, rookie of the year – Josh Bawtinheimer.

Junior varsity boys: MVP – Jaxon Lynn, heart and hustle – Kyle Eckensweller, most improved – Jake Andrews.

Junior varsity girls: MVP – Cara Derbyshire, heart and hustle – Gabby Trudel, most improved – Kara Canning.

City girls: MVP – Emma Kooiman, coach’s award – Jessie Stormoen, most improved – Jensen Peck.


Grade 9 male top player – Braden Bystrom, Grade 9 female top player – Emma Kooiman, senior male top players – Jaxon Lynn and Carson Walker, senior female top player – Talissa Munce.

Track and Field

Grade 9 male outstanding athlete – Nathaniel DiLella, Grade 9 female outstanding athlete – Bryana Cressey, Senior outstanding athlete – Aden Smaill.


Senior boys: Most improved – Bryce Marshall, rookie of the year – Dagan Slimmon, players’ choice – Cam Lee and Aden Smaill, MVP – Morgan Drews.

Senior girls: MVP – Alex Donaghy, most improved – Talissa Munce.


Top junior high student – Liam O’Callaghan , top senior high male – Austin Moore, top senior high female – Joy Fugler.

Midway through the awards ceremony several students participated in a basketball dunk competition.

A video, created by Sarah Steinbach, which captured students during classes and extra-curricular activities, was screened and appreciated by the audience.

Following the awards presentation all the coaches were thanked for their time and involvement in school sports.

The athletic society put on a barbecue for athletes, parents and staff before the awards ceremony.

School teams had a very successful year, said Chatwood preceding award presentations.

“We had a Grade 9 boys volleyball team for the first time in years and after a slow start came on strong to get silver at the CWAJHAA tournament.”

The senior girls volleyball team finished first overall in the CASA league and were two points shy of winning zones and moving on to provincials, but should be extremely proud of their silver medal.

They defeated Olds to claim the CENAA banner.

The archery club continued to expand and participated in the provincial NASP competition in Edmonton.

Grade 9 girls basketball team won bronze at the CWAJHAA tourney. Grade 9 boys basketball team beat Lindsay Thurber to win the Olds junior high tournament and got silver at CWAJHAA’s.

Both girls and boys senior basketball teams won the Chinook’s Edge challenge banner.

Senior and junior badminton teams won a number of medals. Carson Walker and Jaxon Lynn won silver at the area tournament and competed at zones.

Braden Bystrom and Tyler Steenbergen won gold at CENAA and were fourth at CWAJHAA’s.

Two athletes competed at the provincial track and field championships in Calgary. Aden Smaill got seventh in intermediate triple jump and Josh Bawtinheimer got 11th in junior high jump.

Boys soccer team was B side champs after a hard fought victory over Lindsay Thurber that was decided in a shootout.

Chatwood also mentioned Cody athletes who had individual accomplishments outside the school.

Tyler Steenbergen was selected in the first round of the WHL bantam draft by Swift Current Broncos.

Chase Thudium and Jordan Steenbergen were key members of the Red Deer Optimist Midget AAA hockey team that won the Telus Cup National Championship.

TJ Sloboda was selected to the U18 Team Alberta football team that will compete at nationals in New Brunswick and Alex Donaghy was selected to the U18 Alberta volleyball team that will compete at Nationals in Winnipeg.